Jawja baybee!

Tell us about yourself and let us know which machine you have.
o2photo

Jawja baybee!

Postby o2photo » Sat May 07, 2016 1:47 am

Hi all,

I live outside of Atlanta, GA and am a new Probotix owner.

I've been looking at CNC machines for a few years and only recently stumbled onto Probotix, and I'm so glad I did. I'm a lead product photographer at a major retailer, and I'm tasked with fabrication of anything and everything, small to large, that will make things faster and more beautiful. I sold them on the need for a small CNC router, so they got me an X-Carve. Great little gateway CNC, but the poor thing just couldn't do the volume we needed it to do, and it was groaning and complaining within a year. However, it proved a need, and we now have a 5x8 PRS Alpha ShopBot. What a beast.

Anyway, I have my own ideas and not much access to the Bot it turns out (corporate, ugh), so I set about finding one for me and someone else who has a need. I have a lot of ideas for niche products as well as some mainstream stuff that need to be proved out before going to injection/thermo, nothing larger than a 24 inch mold. I thought I'd seen it all and was begrudgingly moving toward a ShopBot Desktop Max or a Camaster Stinger 1, both very very fine machines, but both in the $8-10k range for the same cut area. Only a few weeks ago I stumbled onto someone mentioning Probotix in a forum somewhere, looked into it, and started liking what I saw.

Some conversations with Melissa and Len, and boom, I just spent my first day cutting on an Asteroid. Having spent quality time with both an X-Carve and a maxed out ShopBot, I have to say that the Probotix is some serious bang for buck, else I would not even bother to take the time to write this.