Page 1 of 1

help with M8-M9

Posted: Mon Jul 03, 2017 11:14 am
by KenW
Hi all -
I have the Asteroid with spindle.
I read that the Router socket on the back of the Unity can be used for a vacuum dust collector using M8 and M9.

When I plug in a voltage tester first and on the MDI screen I type M8, I don't see any voltage to this outlet.

Anything I am doing wrong?

Thanks

Re: help with M8-M9

Posted: Mon Jul 03, 2017 5:52 pm
by 4DThinker
Try M3 to start and M5 to stop. Conventionally M8 and M9 are for flood coolant ON and Off.

There also should be a router ON/Off button on the left side of the LinuxCNC app. Try that.

4D

Re: help with M8-M9

Posted: Tue Jul 04, 2017 1:03 pm
by KenW
I think you misunderstood. The M3 and M5 is typically used for the spindle, and I read that when a spindle is connected, the outlet on the rear of the Unity could be used for a dust collector where the M8 and M9 would control it.

On the main page is a check box for Shop Vac (M8) and even though I have it checked, using M8 does nothing.

Re: help with M8-M9

Posted: Tue Jul 04, 2017 3:19 pm
by 4DThinker
That outlet (if I remember correctly) is connect directly to a power cord on one leg and the other leg goes through a relay that is controlled (on/off) by a command from LinuxCNC. So be sure that (removable) power cord is in place and plugged in. If it is and you still get nothing when the on-screen ShopVac button is ON then that relay may be bad or not wired properly. Your next step is to contact Probotix support.

4D

Re: help with M8-M9

Posted: Tue Jul 04, 2017 3:26 pm
by KenW
Hi 4Dthinker,

Ahh. That was my problem. I didn't connect that 2nd power cord. It works like a charm now THANKS!.

Now I just need to find some reference of how to network to my windows computer so I can access my files instead
of going back and forth with a usb drive :-)

Re: help with M8-M9

Posted: Wed Jul 05, 2017 12:31 am
by 4DThinker
Glad I could help. To network mine I tried several USB wifi dongles and never found one that worked with Linux. I ended up getting an ethernet-to-wifi card that didn't need any configuration and it worked fine. I plugged it first into my Windows PC to tell it what my wifi password was I believe. It has been a couple of years though.

Re: help with M8-M9

Posted: Wed Jul 05, 2017 5:57 am
by KenW
Ok. Will look into that, but I already have a hard wired ethernet connection, so I thought it would be easy.