Have to get a new router!

A place to talk about anything that doesn't fit anywhere else.
BrerFox
Posts: 17
Joined: Sat Aug 22, 2015 8:53 am

Have to get a new router!

Postby BrerFox » Thu Sep 10, 2015 6:17 pm

I have been using a DeWalt D26670 trim router since I bought my Comet about three years ago. It is just about shot! I replaced the brushes and bearings once and extended it's life. That particular model is no longer available! It is sounding pretty rough! Speed is fluctuating and has a lot of vibrations.
Just wanted to get some input on what kind of routers everyone else is using and how you like them.
I think I also have to get a new mount. Len, if you are watching maybe you can help here also!
Thanks in advance for your assistance!

Ellis

pete
Posts: 153
Joined: Wed Aug 12, 2015 11:22 am
Location: Tennessee

Re: Have to get a new router!

Postby pete » Thu Sep 10, 2015 8:39 pm

I use the Dewalt dwp 611. So far so good
I love my Nebula

probotix
Site Admin
Posts: 56
Joined: Wed Aug 12, 2015 11:08 am
Contact:

Re: Have to get a new router!

Postby probotix » Fri Sep 18, 2015 8:02 am

Best routers at the moment are the DWP-611 in the trim router size and the Bosch 1617 in the full sized router. This changes whenever the tool companies make changes to their designs.

If you want longevity, the chinese VFD spindles are worth the investment. They use high dollar german bearings, are quiet, and use an ER-20 collet system - which opens up a whole new world of tooling options. The only things I don't like about them is that they require 220V and they take about 20 seconds to get up to speed. You'll have to insert a "G4 P20" after the "M3" to pause the program while the spindle spools up.

beltramidave
Posts: 214
Joined: Fri Aug 21, 2015 8:54 pm

Re: Have to get a new router!

Postby beltramidave » Mon Sep 21, 2015 10:59 pm

Accel time is adjustable in the VFD parameters.

User avatar
HANNAH024
Posts: 289
Joined: Fri Aug 21, 2015 9:57 am

Re: Have to get a new router!

Postby HANNAH024 » Mon Sep 28, 2015 6:32 am

I am using the Bosch 1617 variable speed router and it is working great.
Just finished cutting some parts made of OAK for a project that have the edges routed
with a round-over 0.75 in Dia. cutter. As you can see in the picture, it plowed through the oak cutting the full 3/4" width.
On the last pass, the Bosch groaned a little and both the router and the cutter got warm
but cut over 800 total inches of material without a problem.

PDR_4496.JPG
PDR_4496.JPG (1.08 MiB) Viewed 5796 times
It is what it is!
Have a great day.
HANNAH

hemicro
Posts: 60
Joined: Fri Aug 21, 2015 12:44 pm

Re: Have to get a new router!

Postby hemicro » Mon Sep 28, 2015 9:48 am

Does the 1617 use the same mount as the colt??

User avatar
HANNAH024
Posts: 289
Joined: Fri Aug 21, 2015 9:57 am

Re: Have to get a new router!

Postby HANNAH024 » Mon Sep 28, 2015 12:21 pm

The 1617 has to have the 3.5" mount. Same as the Porter-Cable 892.
It is what it is!
Have a great day.
HANNAH

hemicro
Posts: 60
Joined: Fri Aug 21, 2015 12:44 pm

Re: Have to get a new router!

Postby hemicro » Mon Sep 28, 2015 2:41 pm

Thanks. I have an asteroid on the way and should probably have went with the 1617, but I got a new Dewalt. For 50 bucks I could have had an extra horse !!!

User avatar
HANNAH024
Posts: 289
Joined: Fri Aug 21, 2015 9:57 am

Re: Have to get a new router!

Postby HANNAH024 » Tue Sep 29, 2015 9:45 pm

$ 50 is a great price even if it is not 2.25HP like the 1617. A Bosch would have cost over 3 times that even at CPO Outlets
It is what it is!
Have a great day.
HANNAH

hemicro
Posts: 60
Joined: Fri Aug 21, 2015 12:44 pm

Re: Have to get a new router!

Postby hemicro » Wed Sep 30, 2015 9:18 am

lol, I should have said "for 50 bucks more than the dewalt" !!


Return to “Open Talk”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest