Cant select or find my configuration

Discuss software here
nickmcc247
Posts: 31
Joined: Sun Apr 03, 2016 12:10 pm

Cant select or find my configuration

Postby nickmcc247 » Fri Nov 18, 2016 5:20 pm

I unplugged my game pad not knowing it would cause an error. I ended up having to rerun the configurator, my old shortcut disappeared and when I go into LinuxCNC to select new configuration it shows an address /usr/local/etc/linuxcnc/config and some sample configs. when I select the /usr... it says in next window 'no details available' and wont let me select ok. If I try to go to /usr/local/etc there is no linuxcnc file in it, when I try to move it from the probotix folder it says I don't have permission. Please help, I have a few orders that need to go out preferably before Monday. Thanks in advance.

My machine is an older Comet, I have rerun configurator several times exactly as the wiki says and restarted computer.

nickmcc247
Posts: 31
Joined: Sun Apr 03, 2016 12:10 pm

Re: Cant select or find my configuration

Postby nickmcc247 » Sat Nov 19, 2016 12:13 pm

So just a follow up if not clear I followed the instructions from here, http://www.probotix.com/wiki/index.php/ ... figuration and that at least put the probotix machines in the LinuxCNC program to choose from. If I select Comet I still get error. I then ran the configurator from the directions here http://www.probotix.com/wiki/index.php/ ... figuration and when I go into LinuxCNC there are no probotix machines to choose from and the only link to choose from says no details and the rest are sample configs.

nickmcc247
Posts: 31
Joined: Sun Apr 03, 2016 12:10 pm

Re: Cant select or find my configuration

Postby nickmcc247 » Sat Nov 19, 2016 4:07 pm

attatched is what error code I am getting if it helps. also attached is what linuxcnc looks like after running the configurator. i tried taking the file that the configurator produced and put it in that location but i dont have permission needed. i did run the other method to get the probotix machines back in linuxcnc and moved the file that the configurator produced in there with the probotix folder but I still get an error.
IMG_3752.JPG
IMG_3752.JPG (5.37 MiB) Viewed 4787 times

nickmcc247
Posts: 31
Joined: Sun Apr 03, 2016 12:10 pm

Re: Cant select or find my configuration

Postby nickmcc247 » Sat Nov 19, 2016 4:08 pm

here is the pic of linuxcnc after configurator.
Attachments
IMG_3751.JPG
IMG_3751.JPG (5.36 MiB) Viewed 4786 times

beltramidave
Posts: 214
Joined: Fri Aug 21, 2015 8:54 pm

Re: Cant select or find my configuration

Postby beltramidave » Sat Nov 19, 2016 6:02 pm

Not sure that I am going to be of any help. Go to "Places" => "Home Folder" => "LinuxCNC" => "Configs" . Take a pic of what you see there.

Dave

nickmcc247
Posts: 31
Joined: Sun Apr 03, 2016 12:10 pm

Re: Cant select or find my configuration

Postby nickmcc247 » Sun Nov 20, 2016 5:35 pm

just a probotix folder and in it an empty folder named axis, thanks for your help

beltramidave
Posts: 214
Joined: Fri Aug 21, 2015 8:54 pm

Re: Cant select or find my configuration

Postby beltramidave » Sun Nov 20, 2016 7:59 pm

Nick,

That is at least some of your problem, if you don't have any configs. How old is your Comet? Does it have the tan colored Probotix controller or the black one? Do you have a tool sensor?

I found a configuration for a older Comet (without tool sensor). If you are interested in trying it, I will post a link to it in my Dropbox. Copy the entire folder into your Config folder.

https://www.dropbox.com/sh/xicp50h80bi0 ... Yve0a?dl=0

Don't forget to restart computer after doing this. I hope this helps you out, otherwise I am sure Len will get you going.

Dave

nickmcc247
Posts: 31
Joined: Sun Apr 03, 2016 12:10 pm

Re: Cant select or find my configuration

Postby nickmcc247 » Mon Nov 21, 2016 10:15 am

yeah i have the older one. i am going to call in this morning and see whats up. thanks for your help.

beltramidave
Posts: 214
Joined: Fri Aug 21, 2015 8:54 pm

Re: Cant select or find my configuration

Postby beltramidave » Mon Nov 21, 2016 3:03 pm

Please post what you found out. Thanks

nickmcc247
Posts: 31
Joined: Sun Apr 03, 2016 12:10 pm

Re: Cant select or find my configuration

Postby nickmcc247 » Wed Nov 23, 2016 6:58 pm

so the version of linux I was running was probably so old that the new configurator wouldnt work with it. re-installed linux did the trick, and of course using the configurator again(I did struggle with this too though). thanks to Dave for his help, and Lance and Len at Probotix too.


Return to “Software”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest