HELP! JOINT 2 ERROR MESSAGE

Discuss Machine Mechanics Here
proflemoi
Posts: 28
Joined: Sun Sep 20, 2015 3:56 pm

HELP! JOINT 2 ERROR MESSAGE

Postby proflemoi » Sat Sep 26, 2015 9:40 am

Hello All,

I have had my new Asteroid for a few days and I already seem to have a problem. This morning when I started up my machine everything was working fine. But now I get the following message: JOINT 2 ERROR ON LIMIT SWITCH. I had a full day of work planned today but I am dead in the water at the moment. I have rebooted the machine and the controller 3x but no luck... any help would be VERY much appreciated!!

ProfL

proflemoi
Posts: 28
Joined: Sun Sep 20, 2015 3:56 pm

Re: HELP! JOINT 2 ERROR MESSAGE

Postby proflemoi » Sat Sep 26, 2015 10:48 am

I seemed to have solved the problem by checking off "Override All Limits" ... not sure if that is the right procedure but the CNC is back up and running. Can anyone tell me why this error message occurred? Just curious if it is something I did or if there are other issues at work...

Thanks :)

ProfL

pete
Posts: 153
Joined: Wed Aug 12, 2015 11:22 am
Location: Tennessee

Re: HELP! JOINT 2 ERROR MESSAGE

Postby pete » Sat Sep 26, 2015 4:39 pm

did you home the machine first also was the z axis up all the way or was the x or y axis hitting the limits
I love my Nebula

KLWestfall
Posts: 93
Joined: Fri Aug 28, 2015 10:17 am
Location: Red Deer, Alberta

Re: HELP! JOINT 2 ERROR MESSAGE

Postby KLWestfall » Sun Sep 27, 2015 12:34 am

I had that once on my Meteor, call the company and he said: (not quote)

I had exceeded a limit switch
Exceeded axis would have a cross (i think) next to it in the cutting window (toolpath screen on monitor)

I should hit the "override" button and move indicated axis
Machine worked perfectly after that.

But frustrating for a while!

Sorry, probably not explained very well.....
Probotix Meteor - :D 8-)
Lots of Wood - 8-)

Funny, I don't remember being absentminded...

User avatar
Skelly
Posts: 33
Joined: Fri Aug 21, 2015 3:27 pm
Location: NE Kansas

Re: HELP! JOINT 2 ERROR MESSAGE

Postby Skelly » Mon Sep 28, 2015 9:32 am

Yesterday I got a repeatable 'Joint 0 error on limit switch' message. The x-axis limit switches are readily accessible on the opposite side of the gantry from the router so I took a look, tugging gently on both wires connected to the switches. The black wire easily pulled right out of the connector. I crimped on a new connector and got back to work.


Return to “Machine Mechanics”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest